Faculty

Primary Faculty

Name Email Office Office Hours Research Areas Links

Michael Bishop
Professor

mbishop@fsu.edu Dodd 156C T R 12:30 - 2:00 PM Philosophy of Psychology, Epistemology, Value Theory Profile, CV
Michael Bukoski
Assistant Professor starting Fall 2018
mbukoski@fsu.edu Dodd 290   Ethics, Metaethics, Political Philosophy CV

Randolph Clarke
Professor and Director of Graduate Studies

rkclarke@fsu.edu Dodd 154A T R 3:00 - 4:30 PM Philosophy of Action, Metaphysics, Ethics Profile, CV, PhilPapers

Marie Fleming
Professor

mfleming@fsu.edu Dodd 282 T R 9:30 - 10:30 AM 19th and 20th Century German Philosophy, Philosophy of Mind Profile, CV, PhilPapers

Marcela Herdova
Teaching Faculty I

mherdova@fsu.edu Dodd 285 T R 12:30 - 1:30 PM Philosophy of Mind, Action Theory, Self-Control, Free Will, Moral Psychology Profile, Personal SitePhilPapers, Academia.edu
Edward Hinchman
Associate Professor starting Fall 2018
hinchman@uwm.edu     Epistemology, Moral Psychology, Philosophy of Language and Mind  

James "Jack" Justus
Associate Professor

jjustus@fsu.edu Dodd 154 On sabbatical Philosophy of Science, Epistemology, Environmental Philosophy, History of Analytic Philosophy Profile, CV, PhilPapers

Stephen Kearns
Associate Professor

skearns@fsu.edu Dodd 285 T R 10:00 - 11:00 AM Metaphysics, Epistemology, Philosophy of Action, Ethics, Philosophy of Mind Profile, CV, Personal Site, PhilPapers

Mark LeBar
Professor

mlebar2@fsu.edu Dodd 289 W 10:30 AM - 12:00 PM Moral Philosophy, Social and Political Philosophy, Ancient Greek Philosophy Profile, CV, PhilPapers, Academia.edu, ResearchGate

Tracie Mahaffey
Associate Teaching Faculty and Director of Undergrad. Studies

tlmahaff@fsu.edu Dodd 183 T R 2:30 - 4:00 Philosophy of action, feminist theory, ethics Profile, CV

Simon Cabulea May
Associate Professor

smay@fsu.edu Dodd 284 T R 2:00-3:00 PM Political Philosophy, Ethics, Philosophy of Law Profile, CV, PhilPapers, Academia.edu

Alfred Mele
William H. and Lucyle T. Werkmeister Professor

amele@fsu.edu Dodd 288 By appointment only Action Theory, Philosophy of Mind, Metaphysics, Ancient Greek Philosophy Profile, CV, Personal Site, PhilPapers

Maria Morales
Associate Professor

mmorales@fsu.edu Dodd 184 F 9:00 - 11:30 AM Political Philosophy, Ethics, Philosophy of Law, Ancient Greek Philosophy, Feminism Profile, CV

J. Piers Rawling
Professor and Chair

prawling@fsu.edu Dodd 152 M W 11:15 - 12:45 Decision and Game Theory, Ethics, Logic Profile, CV, PhilPapers

John R. Roberts
Associate Professor

jrroberts@fsu.edu Dodd 185 R 11:00 AM - 2:30 PM Modern Philosophy, Moral Psychology, Philosophy of Mind Profile, CV, PhilPapers

Michael Ruse
Lucyle T. Werkmeister Professor and Director of HPS Program

mruse@fsu.edu Diff 001B By appointment only Philosophy of Biology, Ethics, History and Philosophy of Science Profile, CV, PhilPapers

John Schwenkler
Associate Professor

jschwenkler@fsu.edu Dodd 283  M 1:00 - 3:00 PM Philosophy of Mind, Philosophy of Action, Epistemology Profile, CV, Personal Site, PhilPapers

Nathanael Stein
Associate Professor

nstein2@fsu.edu Dodd 287  T R 4:00 - 5:00 Ancient Philosophy, Metaphysics Profile, CV, PhilPapers
Sarah Vincent
Teaching Faculty starting Fall 2018
s.vincent@unf.edu     Applied Ethics, Philosophy of Cognitive Science and Psychology  
Andrea Westlund
Associate Professor starting Fall 2018
westlund@uwm.edu     Ethics, Moral Psychology, and Feminist Philosophy  

 

Adjunct Faculty/Post-Doctoral Researchers

Name Email Office Office Hours Research Areas Links
Michael Bukoski
The Philosophy and Science of Self-Control Fellow
mbukoski@fsu.edu Dodd 290  M 2:30 - 5:30    

Angela Schwenkler

aschwenkler@fsu.edu Dodd 283  Before or after class    

Aron Vadakin

atv04@fsu.edu Dodd 151E  M W F 8:00 - 9:50
M 10:00 -10:30
   

Ben Miller
Adjunct Faculty

bmiller2@fsu.edu King 1063B W 1:00- 4:00 PM Philosophy of Science, Moral Psychology, Ethics Profile

 

Affiliate Faculty

Name Email Office Research Areas

Roy Baumeister
Francis Eppes Professor
Social Psychology

baumeister@psy.fsu.edu PSYC B437 Self and identity, emotion, social rejection and belongingness, aggression, sexuality, self-control, self-esteem, interpersonal processes, defensiveness and self-deception, self-defeating behaviors, quest for meaning, motivated cognition, interdisciplinary approaches to psychology.
Aline Kalbian
Professor, Chair
Religion
akalbian@fsu.edu Dodd 210 Religion, Ethics, and Philosophy, Catholic Moral Theology; Gender and Religion; Bioethics and Religion
Paul Conway
Assistant Professor
Social Psychology
conway@psy.fsu.edu PSYC B333 The psychology of morality and justice: How people think about good and bad, right and wrong, and whether to help or harm others.

Michael Kaschak
Professor, Director of Undergraduate Studies
Cognitive Psychology

kaschak@psy.fsu.edu PSYC B435 The role of systems of perception and action planning in language comprehenslon; embodled cognltlon; language production; learning and adaptation effects in both language comprehension and production; language acquisition.

Martin Kavka
Professor
Religion

mkavka@fsu.edu Dodd M03 Religion, Ethics, and Philosophy, Continental Philosophy of Religion; Phenomenology; Jewish Philosophy; Jewish Metaethics
Michael Nair-Collins
Associate Professor
Medicine, Medical Humanities & Social Sciences
michael.nair-collins@med.fsu.edu   Philosophy of Mind, Biomedical Ethics, Cognitive Science, Philosophy of Science, Logic, Ethics
Fernando Tesón
Tobias Simon Eminent Scholar
Law
 
fteson@law.fsu.edu 315 LAW Relating political philosophy to international law (in particular in defense of humanitarian intervention), political rhetoric, and global justice. 

 

Retired Faculty

Name Email Office Office Hours Research Areas Links

Russell Dancy
Professor Emeritus

rmdancy@fsu.edu     Ancient Greek Philosophy, Metaphysics, Philosophy of Language, Philosophy of Music Profile, CV, PhilPapers

David McNaughton
Professor Emeritus

dmcnaughton@fsu.edu     Ethics, 18th Century British Moral Philosophy, Philosophy of Religion Profile, CV, PhilPapers
title-inside title-centered
2
Legacy Sort
1
Legacy Priority
1