Faculty

Primary Faculty

Name Email Office Office Hours Research Areas Links

Michael Bishop
Professor

mbishop@fsu.edu 156C DOD R 2:00 - 4:00 Philosophy of Psychology, Epistemology, Value Theory Profile, CV

Randolph Clarke
Professor and Director of Graduate Studies

rkclarke@fsu.edu 154A DOD T 2:00- 5:00 PM Philosophy of Action, Metaphysics, Ethics Profile, CV, PhilPapers

Marie Fleming
Professor

mfleming@fsu.edu 282 DOD T R 2:00- 3:00 PM 19th and 20th Century German Philosophy, Philosophy of Mind Profile, CV, PhilPapers

Marcela Herdova
Teaching Faculty I

mherdova@fsu.edu 285 DOD T 2:00 - 3:00 PM
R 11:15 - 12:15
Philosophy of Mind, Action Theory, Self-Control, Free Will, Moral Psychology Profile, Personal SitePhilPapers, Academia.edu

James "Jack" Justus
Associate Professor

jjustus@fsu.edu 154 DOD T R 10:45 -  12:15 PM Philosophy of Science, Epistemology, Environmental Philosophy, History of Analytic Philosophy Profile, CV, PhilPapers

Stephen Kearns
Associate Professor

skearns@fsu.edu 285 DOD T R 12:30 - 1:45 AM Metaphysics, Epistemology, Philosophy of Action, Ethics, Philosophy of Mind Profile, CV, Personal Site, PhilPapers

Mark LeBar
Professor

mlebar2@fsu.edu 289 DOD M W 2:30-3:30 AM Moral Philosophy, Social and Political Philosophy, Ancient Greek Philosophy Profile, CV, PhilPapers, Academia.edu

Tracie Mahaffey
Associate Teaching Faculty and Director of Undergrad. Studies

tlmahaff@fsu.edu 183 DOD T R 8:00 - 9:00
W 4:00 - 5:00
Philosophy of action, feminist theory, ethics Profile, CV

Simon Cabulea May
Associate Professor

smay@fsu.edu 284 DOD T R 2:00-3:00 PM Political Philosophy, Ethics, Philosophy of Law Profile, CV, PhilPapers, Academia.edu

Alfred Mele
William H. and Lucyle T. Werkmeister Professor

amele@fsu.edu 288 DOD M 9:00 - 11:00
T 11:00 - 12:00
Action Theory, Philosophy of Mind, Metaphysics, Ancient Greek Philosophy Profile, CV, Personal Site, PhilPapers

Maria Morales
Associate Professor

mmorales@fsu.edu 184 DOD F 10:00 - 1:00 Political Philosophy, Ethics, Philosophy of Law, Ancient Greek Philosophy, Feminism Profile, CV

J. Piers Rawling
Professor and Chair

prawling@fsu.edu 152 DOD M W 9:30 - 10:00, 11:00 - 12:00 Decision and Game Theory, Ethics, Logic Profile, CV, PhilPapers

John R. Roberts
Associate Professor

jrroberts@fsu.edu 185 DOD R 11:00 - 2:00 Modern Philosophy, Moral Psychology, Philosophy of Mind Profile, CV, PhilPapers

Michael Ruse
Lucyle T. Werkmeister Professor and Director of HPS Program

mruse@fsu.edu 001B DIF By appointment Philosophy of Biology, Ethics, History and Philosophy of Science Profile, CV, PhilPapers

John Schwenkler
Associate Professor

jschwenkler@fsu.edu 283 DOD M 11:00 - 1:00 Philosophy of Mind, Philosophy of Action, Epistemology Profile, CV, Personal Site, PhilPapers

Nathanael Stein
Associate Professor

nstein2@fsu.edu 287 DOD M 9:30 - 10:30
R 4:00 - 5:00
Ancient Philosophy, Metaphysics Profile, CV, PhilPapers

 

Adjunct Faculty/Post-Doctoral Researchers

Name Email Office Office Hours Research Areas Links
Michael Bukoski
The Philosophy and Science of Self-Control Fellow
mbukoski@fsu.edu 290 DOD M 2:30 - 5:30    

Dena Hurst
Adjunct Faculty

dhurst@iog.fsu.edu 290 DOD      

Ben Miller
Adjunct Faculty

bmiller2@fsu.edu 1063B KIN W 1:00- 4:00 PM Philosophy of Science, Moral Psychology, Ethics Profile

Angela Schwenkler

aschwenkler@fsu.edu 283 DOD M W F 8:30 - 9:00
By appointment
   

 

Affiliate Faculty

Name Email Office Research Areas

Roy Baumeister
Francis Eppes Professor
Social Psychology

baumeister@psy.fsu.edu B437 PSYC Self and identity, emotion, social rejection and belongingness, aggression, sexuality, self-control, self-esteem, interpersonal processes, defensiveness and self-deception, self-defeating behaviors, quest for meaning, motivated cognition, interdisciplinary approaches to psychology.
Aline Kalbian
Professor, Chair
Religion
akalbian@fsu.edu 210 DOD Religion, Ethics, and Philosophy, Catholic Moral Theology; Gender and Religion; Bioethics and Religion
Paul Conway
Assistant Professor
Social Psychology
conway@psy.fsu.edu B333 PSYC The psychology of morality and justice: How people think about good and bad, right and wrong, and whether to help or harm others.

Michael Kaschak
Professor, Director of Undergraduate Studies
Cognitive Psychology

kaschak@psy.fsu.edu B435 PSYC The role of systems of perception and action planning in language comprehenslon; embodled cognltlon; language production; learning and adaptation effects in both language comprehension and production; language acquisition.

Martin Kavka
Professor
Religion

mkavka@fsu.edu M03 DOD Religion, Ethics, and Philosophy, Continental Philosophy of Religion; Phenomenology; Jewish Philosophy; Jewish Metaethics
Michael Nair-Collins
Associate Professor
Medicine, Medical Humanities & Social Sciences
michael.nair-collins@med.fsu.edu   Philosophy of Mind, Biomedical Ethics, Cognitive Science, Philosophy of Science, Logic, Ethics
Fernando Tesón
Tobias Simon Eminent Scholar
Law
 
fteson@law.fsu.edu 315 LAW Relating political philosophy to international law (in particular in defense of humanitarian intervention), political rhetoric, and global justice. 

 

Retired Faculty

Name Email Office Office Hours Research Areas Links

Russell Dancy
Professor Emeritus

rmdancy@fsu.edu 290 DOD   Ancient Greek Philosophy, Metaphysics, Philosophy of Language, Philosophy of Music Profile, CV, PhilPapers

David McNaughton
Professor Emeritus

dmcnaughton@fsu.edu     Ethics, 18th Century British Moral Philosophy, Philosophy of Religion Profile, CV, PhilPapers
Legacy Sort
1
Legacy Priority
1